Chandler Music Inc.
Find us on Facebook



Anastasis (SATB)

Anastasis  (SATB)

5+: 5.80 ea.
10+: 5.44 ea.
75+: 5.07 ea.


(Pricing and availability is subject to change without notice. Please call for the latest information.)
For SATB Voices and Piano
Words by Malcolm Westwood
Music by Richard Phillips

"Anastasis" ("Resurrection") is an extended setting by Richard Phillips of a text by Malcolm Westwood, which was commissioned by Dorothy Nancekievill and the International Staff Songsters. The three movements depict Good Friday, Easter Saturday and Easter Sunday. In the up-tempo first movement the tenors and basses have the melody first, with sopranos and altos shouting interjections along the way, and then these roles are reversed, before the whole choir take up the Good Friday story and bring it to a dramatic conclusion. The second movement which follows without a break from the first is more contemplative, with the choir singing unaccompanied, before a return to the faster tempo signals the start of the final movement. Here the voices begin with repeated statements of "He is risen; He is risen indeed", first spoken quietly, and building to fortissimo shouts. The next section grows towards a chorale-like setting of part of Charles Wesley's hymn "Love's redeeming work is done", over a driving piano accompaniment, before the final "Hallelujah"s bring the work to a triumphant close.
There are no related products at this time.